Results of 2015 Tri-State & District Championships

2015 Tri-State and District Championships

Report, Pictures and Results


In a keenly fought contest the number 1 seed Derek Nie overcame Raghu Nadmichettu by a 4-2 margin in the final of the Tri-State and District Championships to become the regional champion! This event was open to residents, workers and student of Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland and the District of Columbia. Derek advanced to the final by beating Allen Lin 4-1 in the semi final in a battle of speed versus extreme spin. Raghu beat Nam Nguyen 4-0, despite Nam having recorded a previous win against Raghu at the North America teams event last year, Raghu played consistently making very few errors. In the final Raghu playing well took an early 2-1; Derek rallied back to a 3-2 game lead prior to closing out a nail biting final game 12-10 with strong rallies and exciting play from both players. Nam Nguyem beat Allen Lin 4-0 to win the bronze medal putting on a display of accurate smashing, blocking and on occasions crowd pleasing away from the table, top spin defense. The games were closely fought however Nam through fast exciting to watch play, was able to edge out Allen in each of the games. It takes 2 to put on an entertaining show, so congratulations also go to 4th place finisher Allen Lin.

Over 40’s and over 50’s titles were lifted by Michael Levene and John Olsen respectively; with both players proving to be too strong for the rest of the field. Michael had previously given Raghu a difficult match in open group play losing 11-9, 9-11, 16-14, 21-19 before bowing out to Allen Lin in the quarter finals of the open.

The rated events were evenly contested and only a wise person would have been able to pick and place the medalists prior to the event. Unrated Anthony Gianquitti won the Unrated/Under 1200, Dragos Prisaca won the under 1600 and in a classic offense versus defense final Frederick Nicoles chopped and hit his way to victory over  local Smash player and former Indian international Gaurav Sharma to win the Under 2000 event.

In the last event of the tournament on Sunday evening William Waltrip and Max Labell won the doubles event, beating all over teams in a 7 team round robin.


« of 2 »


Tri-State Table Tennis Results

Leave a Reply